World Sweeper street and parking area sweeping information

Awards of Excellence in Power Sweeping

Awards of Excellence in Sweeping

We appreciate any suggestions you might have for this section.

Send Suggestions

Click on the graphic above for an email window.


Award of Excellence

As the founder and editor of American Sweeper magazine, in 1995 our editor, Ranger Kidwell-Ross, began the tradition of recognizing outstanding individuals in the sweeping industry. Through the intervening years the honor, called the Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping, has become the top distinction in the world of power sweeping.

Says Kidwell-Ross, "The World Sweeper / World Sweeping Association Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping continues a tradition I began in 1995. This was spurred because I had won, the previous year, a national APEX Award for Publication Excellence for my American Sweeper magazine. This motivated me to start a similar award for the power sweeping industry.

Through the intervening years the Award has been received by a notable 'Who's Who' list of dedicated, involved companies and individuals in the power sweeping industry. The Award qualifications, which include more than just success in the sweeping industry, encompass time devoted to building professionalism in the industry and in assisting others involved in sweeping."

In 2005, American Sweeper magazine transitioned into this website, which resumed this tradition." This is the place on the expansive WorldSweeper website where you may read about the current recipient of this special Award, as well as information about other winners in past years. Starting with the 2014 presentation, the Award has also been co-sponsored by the World Sweeping Association.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

Elgin Sweeper Company Won the Sweeping Association's 2020 Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping, the United States power sweeping industry's highest honor.

Award Excellence Logo With Elgin Name

At the National Pavement Exposition, held in Nashville January 29th to February 1st of 2020, the Sweeping Association's Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping was awarded to Elgin Sweeper Company.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

The Award was accepted by the General Manager of Elgin Sweeper Company, Mike Higgins, along with two key members of the Elgin Team.


The Award wording, as presented by Ranger Kidwell-Ross, the Editor of and Director of the World Sweeping Association:

Everyone in this room knows this year's winner of our Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping. Today we are honoring a company that's over 100 years old and that makes sweepers that many, if not most, of you have operated at one time or another through your years in the sweeping industry.

The company was founded in 1914 by pioneering automobile enthusiast John Murphy, who was a resident and alderman of the town of Elgin, IL. Mr. Murphy recognized the serious health hazards caused by polluted streets and set out to invent the world's first machine that would automatically pick up street debris.

Just before World War I Mr. Murphy brought his design for the first mechanized sweeper to American Tower and Tank Company of Elgin. After two years of trials with the original design, the company was ready to go to market. After a couple years of testing, the first motor sweeper, a three-wheeled machine, was sold in April 1914 to the City of Boise, ID.

Although unquestionably a worthy recipient as a result of what the company has brought to the power sweeping industry in the 105 years since it was started, they were chosen as this year's Award recipient for another specific reason.


This year's Award recognizes the extraordinary expenditure of effort and investment the company made during the development of its newest product, the RegenXTM. To come up with a final design for its RegenX product, the company's representatives traversed the United States, speaking to hundreds of customers at all levels within the street sweeping industry, both municipal and contractor, in pursuit of what it termed "true voice-of the-customer insights."

For its willingness to conduct such extensive, real-world prototype testing and feedback before bringing its RegenX model to market, at this time it is my great honor to present the Sweeping Association's 2020 Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping, the United States power sweeping industry's highest honor, to Federal Signal Corporation's Elgin Sweeper Company.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

If you'd like to see a 5-minute video of the Award presentation, you can take a look below. If you'd rather watch it full-sized in your browser, click here.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

While at the National Pavement Expo, Eric Marx showed us the RegenX model sweeper that was pivital in Elgin winning this year's Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping. You may either watch the video here or, to view on YouTube full-sized in your browser use this link.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

For more information about Elgin Sweeper, we invite you to visit the company's website, which is located at The company's phone number is (847) 741-5370 and you may contact them via email sent to

If you have questions or comments about this article, please, let us know and, if appropriate, we will add it in as an addendum to this article.

Green Line Sweeper Separator

Some Previous Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping Winners

Winner for 2019, Warren & Bridget Burge, founder of Baton Rouge-based Clean Sweep, Inc.

Winner for 2016, Larry Dyck, founder of MASCO Sweepers.

Winner for 2015, Les Huliscko, founder of SweepRite Sweepers.

Winner for 2010, Allan Heydorn, editor of PAVEMENT Maintenance & Reconstruction Magazine.

Winner for 2009, South Carolina-based Dale McCaskill and his company, Southco Sweeping.

Winner for 2008, Seattle-based Davidson-Macri Sweeping and SweeperMarket Magazine.

First Award Winner, Gabriel Vitale, owner of C and L Sweeping in New Jersey.

Winner for 2006, Gale Holsman, owner of American Sweeping, Inc. in Kansas City, Missouri.

Eugene Hansen, the founder of Minnesota-based Clean Sweep, Inc.

Mark Carter, co-owner of Los Angeles-based Bill's Sweeping.

Bob Schwarze, founder of Schwarze Industries, Inc., and his son, Mark, were the winners for 2002.

Winner for 2018, Michael Nawa, founder of Pennsylvania-based Custom Maintenance.

Winner for 2017, Pete Phillips, founder of Chattanooga-based Clean Sweep.

Winner for 2014, NiteHawk Sweepers

Winner for 2013, Karl Stauty and his company, Commercial Power Sweeping, Inc.

Winner for 2012, John "Johnny D" Dubbioso. John's companies include NE-based Tri-State Industrial Maintenance, Three-D Equipment Rebuilding and several others. He was also one of the inventors of the Broom Bear sweeper, which was sold to Elgin.

Winner for 2011, Ray Confer of Michigan-based C & J Sweeping, Inc.

In 2007, the Award of Excellence in Power Sweeping was awarded to the B.W. Young family and the company he founded, The Young Manufacturing Company -- better known in the sweeping industry as the TYMCO sweeper company.

Tom Ostuni is a man who in 1966 looked at an industry in its infancy and saw its potential. He took a single sweeper and a single account and turned it into a full-scale success, helping many others along the way.

Story Ideas? Design Team Info

Fundamentals of the Power Sweeping Business

World Sweeper Logo

© 2005 - 2021 World Sweeper
All rights reserved.

Site Map / Table of Contents